Why Is Captain Leadbottom A Republican?

This being my “official” political blog, I thought it should start with something about myself and a little bit about why I am Republican Party supporter.

I believe that the government is here to serve the people and is of the people. No party holds their ideals as close to what our Founding Father’s intended as the party of Lincoln, the Republican Party.

The republican party stands for small government, more personal control over ones life and family, and fiscal responsibility with our tax dollars. In addition, no party has made the commitment to protect our national interests like the GOP. Our national security is constantly tested and when vulnerable we can and will be attacked. Republicans understand this and will always ensure the US has the strength, the might, and the will to protect their great nation.

This is the party the believes that the best way for the government to help, is for it to help those who help themselves. As Regan said, “The most frightening things to hear is, I’m from the government and I’m here to help.” I would rather be poor and have opportunity, than to wait for the government to come help.

Republicans also understand that the best way to educate our children is to allow parents to control theireducation and what is being taught. The constitution provides for each American’s education, not the curriculum. Schools should be held accountable for their performance, and when they underperform competition should force them to change. Republican believe this is a parents choice, not the bureaucracy’s

The Grand Old Party, the Republican Party, is truly the party of the people.

Now, for a little personal history and some things that helped shape my views.

I wasn’t always a republican or conservative, but for as long as I cared to exercise my right to vote, I have been. I suppose Sir Winston Churchill was right when he said, “Any man who is under 30, and is not a liberal, has no heart; and any man who is over 30, and is not a conservative, has no brains.” At least it’s true in my case. I wonder if it has something to do with being a (very,very,very) distant cousin? Not to say that I didn’t have a brain when I was young, nor am I heartless currently, but it certainly rings true for me.

Amusingly, I can remember a time when I could not even tell you which party was which. Of course, at the time, I really didn’t care. I recall not really liking Carter when I was very young, mostly because I would hear my father complaining and calling him and idiot. I also remember liking Regan for perhaps a similar reason, although my father wasn’t into politics himself. I was in the sixth grade during his assassination attempt, but the impact was vague during my childhood.

As a teen I was as flaky as they come. Squandering my education and intelligence, I fell in with “That Crowd”, the one good mom’s all over warn against. It’s funny how at the same stage of my youth, when I could care less about politics, I was living the life of a pseudo-hippy/ 70’s rocker. I was an “artsy type” that many of my like-minded conservatives today would label a “liberal”. Good thing I wasn’t old enough to vote then or my record of conservative voting might have been blemished. I still play the guitar for my kids and I can’t listen to the Grateful Dead without feeling the urge to “boogie”. So, I think that I have not completely lost touch with my “liberal” side. I just don’t feel the urge to make impulsive, stupid, “feel-good” decisions as I did then. I naively thought that no nukes and welfare programs were good things. I had a utopian view of the world that came from being sheltered by my parents, as I think most children are. Once out in the “real” world, that view starts to change (at least for those who are open-minded enough). Liberals like to claim that open-mindedness for themselves, but in fact, they are the most stubborn, uneducated, irrational, irresponsible group in government.

At age 18, my first republican vote, and first vote ever, was in the general election of 1988, helping to elect President George Bush Sr. I was not paying much attention to the actual campaigns, I just knew that I wanted to exercise my right as an American who had just come of age. Truthfully, I didn’t even know why I was voting for Bush, I just knew that Dukakis didn’t seem trustworthy and we won’t even mention that funny guy with the big ears (oops, I think I just did). Being a child of the Regan era also probably had some influence. Watching the Great Communicator defeat communism and dropping the Iron Curtain certainly effected my opinions on diplomacy and national security.

Actual political policy entered the equation during my service in the US Navy. During the late 80’s and early 90’s Republicans were at the top of their game. Following my first vote that November, I enlisted in the United States Navy and was in boot camp when elder Bush was sworn in. I served during Desert Shield/Storm and it was probably this experience that first started to mold my own political standards and beliefs. Naturally, veteran benefits, national defense, and military pay became important issues for me then. As I started looking closer into what the two parties stand for, I found that the Republican Party would serve my own interests best. Not being a family man at the time, my selfish personal interests were paramount in my decision making. I would register and now delcarethat I was a Republican.

Then came Clinton. My friends (most of which were Navy) were all enamored with this cool, sax-playing politician who had a penchant for young women and scandal. Many were so engulfed by the “no new taxes” issue, that was the elder Bush’s undoing, that they actually voted this “Slick Willy” into office. I however, remained hopeful that Bush would win a second term and voted accordingly.

Now out of the Navy and starting a career in sales and marketing, I still was not particularly involved in politics and certainly not on a local level, being that I did not live in my home state. I was single and happy and making a good living. Clinton wasn’t so bad, right?

Wrong! During the Clinton presidency I married and started to raise a young family. As I matured from a self-centered young man, into a devoted husband and father, my political interests changed. They changed in the sense that I was now paying attention to new laws, Supreme Court decisions, international politics, and the economy. It wasn’t too difficult to realize that if I wanted my children to grow up in a safe and prosperous nation, that conservatism was the answer. Clinton and the democrats were raising taxes, and growing our government to unacceptable levels, while at the same time diminishing our military capabilities and destroying the moral ideals taught to our children.

Clinton’s policies were making our nation vulnerable. I quickly realized the understanding I had been missing until now. The understanding that liberalism was not only shrinking our military, wasting valuable dollars on special interests, overtaxing us, and over governing. Liberalism was corrupting our youth, making our nation literally unsafe from foreign enemies, and pushing us closer to the communism that Ronald Regan had so tirelessly fought against. The Lewinskiscandal and the failing economy heading into recession sealed the deal. The Democratic President of the United States lied on television to the public and lied under oath about a relatively insignificant personal issue. What else can or has he and his ilk lied about. It was apparent that this behavior was not only condoned by leadership in his party but perhaps even admired for it’s gall. I became convinced that I could never vote a liberal into office, ever. I would do more to teach my children about politics and party values than my parents did with the hope that they are not overly influenced by the liberal education establishment. I became a galvanized Republican.

Bush Jr. winning the White House in 2000 brought me some hope for our future. Hope that our education system could be improved, hope that our military secrets would remain so, and hope that we would see some tax relief.

Things changed again on 9-11. I watched the events of the day unfold from shortly after the first plane struck the tower. As soon as the second plane hit, I knew in an instant that we would soon be at war. I didn’t know when, how, or with whom, but somebody would be paying the price for an attack on US soil.

I was afraid. I feared for my children, and what they would soon be experiencing with what comes with war, this kind of war. I was too young to remember Viet-Nam and only heard stories of it from my father, and WW2 stories from my grandfather. Based on those anecdotes and my history lessons I feared The War on Terrorism would cost many American lives and even more lives of our enemy. I can honestly say I am glad that we had a Republican in the White House on that day, and still today as I write this. I belive that our nation is safer today than before 9-11. A more dangerous world perhaps, but our nation is safer from it.

Bush has made plenty of mistakes, bad decisions, and has stupefied me on occasion. I take issue with many things this administration had done (or not done). I won’t get into those topics in this post, but I am by no means a Bush “fanboi”. I will however continue to cast my conservative vote for Republicans in local and national elections, and support this Republican administration, because to do otherwise would be to give up my personal security and choice.

Despite my preference for another presidential hopeful and my initial reluctance to vote for McCain, this November I will again vote Republican. Once again hopeful that my vote will help to keep America a safe and prosperous country to raise my family.

Leave a Reply

